vSphere Home Lab: Part 3 – Procurves and static routing

So I’ve just spent the last three hours trying to work out why my Procurve switch wasn’t routing my various VLAN’s I have configured for my home lab.

I had to move my three hosts and switch into the garage because the heat in the office was becoming unbearable! Unfortunately because of this I broke my connection to my iSCSI VLAN I had configured for my labs ip storage. Because I’m running my SAN management software on my main pc I had a second nic directly plugged into that VLAN, nice and simple right?

However, when I moved the gear I no longer had two cables running to my main pc, I now only had one. I though to myself, “surely I can set up some static routing!?!?”.

Anyway, as it turns out my little Thomson ADSL router supports static routing, cool! I configured this like so:

:rtadd 192.168.3.0/24 192.168.2.50 (where 192.168.3.0/24 is my iSCSI subnet and 192.168.2.50 is the management ip of the Procurve). Step one done!

Next I jumped onto my Procurve 2910al and enabled ip routing, giving me this config:

hostname “SWITCH1”
module 1 type j9147a
no stack
ip default-gateway 192.168.2.1
ip route 0.0.0.0 0.0.0.0 192.168.2.1
ip routing
snmp-server community “public” unrestricted
spanning-tree legacy-path-cost
spanning-tree force-version stp-compatible
vlan 1
name “DEFAULT_VLAN”
no untagged 25-36
untagged 1-24,37-48
ip address 192.168.2.50 255.255.255.0
exit
vlan 10
name “vMotion”
tagged 13-18
no ip address
exit
vlan 20
name “FT”
tagged 13-18
no ip address
exit
vlan 30
name “iSCSI”
untagged 25-36
ip address 192.168.3.1 255.255.255.0
exit
management-vlan 1

Now, doing a tracert from my main pc on VLAN1 it would get as far as the Procurve, but the switch would respond with destination net unreachable.

I continued to try different commands and read several blog posts on configuring static routes and everything I had done looked fine!

I finally came across a comment someone had posted on a forum suggesting that when you specify a management VLAN on the switch it breaks routing! ARGHHHHHHH!

So, I ran “no management-vlan 1” and saved the config. Now the switch is properly routing all VLANs, yay!!!!!

Now I can fire up my HP P4000 CMC and connect to my VSA’s from my main pc on VLAN1, woohoo.

About Ben Loveday
My name is Ben Loveday and I am working as a Systems Architect in New Zealand. I have a keen interest in VMware products and are VCAP5-DCD, VCAP5-DCA and Microsoft MCITP certified. I am studying towards VCDX5 certification…I hope! My areas of focus are the virtualisation of manufacturing automation systems with the aim to improve traditional automation/SCADA system design and improve their availability and reliability. I am married with three kids and my hobbies include playing the guitar (less often than I’d like) and listening to music, mostly 80′s Metal and Rock/Blues :-) Oh..and I'm a PC gamer!

Leave a Reply

