Advisory: HP Proliant BL465c G7 – Storage Fault with P410 removed

I posted an issue I found with the HP BL465c G7 blades last year where we were getting storage errors in the iLO 3. These blades were ordered without the P410 controller as they were booting ESXi from SD card and using SAN attached storage for the virtual machines. The iLO would report the storage status strangely (see my earlier post: http://wp.me/p1J73N-41) as it would flip-flop between OK and failed.

After several months of logging a job with HP and being told that a fix would come in iLO 3 v1.6 I eventually tested the new firmware and to my disappointment the issue persisted. I didn’t want my hosts continuously alerting in vCenter with storage failures so I’ve kept my blades at an older version that doesn’t pass this failure through to the CIM.

Anyway, just this morning I received an email from HP providing an advisory link to the problem saying that there is still no firmware fix and as a workaround the SAS/SATA cable should be removed from the backplane.

http://h20565.www2.hp.com/portal/site/hpsc/template.PAGE/public/kb/docDisplay/?javax.portlet.begCacheTok=com.vignette.cachetoken&javax.portlet.endCacheTok=com.vignette.cachetoken&javax.portlet.prp_ba847bafb2a2d782fcbb0710b053ce01=wsrp-navigationalState%3DdocId%253Demr_na-c03961287-1%257CdocLocale%253D%257CcalledBy%253D&javax.portlet.tpst=ba847bafb2a2d782fcbb0710b053ce01&ac.admitted=1382047973743.876444892.492883150

It is certainly not an ideal workaround but would allow me to upgrade the blades to the latest versions of iLO firmware. I’ll look at testing one and post an update on the issue 🙂

About Ben Loveday
My name is Ben Loveday and I am working as a Systems Architect in New Zealand. I have a keen interest in VMware products and are VCAP5-DCD, VCAP5-DCA and Microsoft MCITP certified. I am studying towards VCDX5 certification…I hope! My areas of focus are the virtualisation of manufacturing automation systems with the aim to improve traditional automation/SCADA system design and improve their availability and reliability. I am married with three kids and my hobbies include playing the guitar (less often than I’d like) and listening to music, mostly 80′s Metal and Rock/Blues :-) Oh..and I'm a PC gamer!

Leave a Reply

