HP releases Storevirtual Lefthand OS 12.5

Just this morning I noticed that Lefthand OS 12.5 was now available for the HP Storevirtual platform. I was surprised by this as I hadn’t seen any announcement about it.

Anyway, taking a look at the release notes the minor update has the following new enhancements:

  • Two-node quorum
  • Support for iSCSI split network
  • Support for VSA on RHEL 6.6 and CentOS 6.6
  • MEM driver for vSphere 6.0
  • SCVMM 2012 R2 support

Additionally there are a number of bug fixes.

See here for the full release notes: http://h20564.www2.hpe.com/hpsc/doc/public/display?docId=c04735172&lang=en-nz&cc=nz

The most interesting enhancement is the Two-node quorum which I’m hoping to test shortly. This is great news for people wanting to deploy VSA for ROBO environments and is a timely release with the upcoming announcement of VSAN 6.1 at VMworld 2015 which is rumored to bring metro clustering (something Storevirtual already supports).

Anyway, stay tuned for further updates on Lefthand OS 12.5!

About Ben Loveday
My name is Ben Loveday and I am working as a Systems Architect in New Zealand. I have a keen interest in VMware products and are VCAP5-DCD, VCAP5-DCA and Microsoft MCITP certified. I am studying towards VCDX5 certification…I hope! My areas of focus are the virtualisation of manufacturing automation systems with the aim to improve traditional automation/SCADA system design and improve their availability and reliability. I am married with three kids and my hobbies include playing the guitar (less often than I’d like) and listening to music, mostly 80′s Metal and Rock/Blues :-) Oh..and I'm a PC gamer!

Leave a Reply

